Godzilla Dream

The city I was living in was under attack by a huge, bright red Godzilla that would burn your brain out if he looked at you.  I ran upstairs to get the puppy and her littermates, and put all five of them safely in a pillowcase.  I had a little crate for Bob (my cat), but he was off somewhere on his own.  I was scared for him.  I came downstairs just as my sister Kim was arriving.  Mom was talking to my brother Bill, trying to get him to come with us, but he was having a panic attack, and went off to an abandoned McDonald’s.  Mom was heartbroken, but there was nothing we could do, so the three of us took off on two scooters.  Then I got a call from Bill, his voice weak, saying he had changed his mind – could we come back and get him?  He was downtown, where the monster was.  I told Mom to go on without me, I’d go get him and rejoin them later.  I got on a scooter and went back to find him, but couldn’t.  Suddenly I saw the monster towering over the adjacent block, coming my way.  I started running down the street with people all around me, the pillowcase over my shoulder.  I ran down a set of subway stairs and came out on a sandy boardwalk next to the river I grew up next to.  I was a little kid, separated from my family.  A gay couple saw me, and decided to help me escape with them.  As we were running down the boardwalk, under the canopy of an elevated train track, the red Godzilla appeared above us.  We froze, petrified, then ran off again as it passed overhead.  One of the puppies fell out of the bag, and I stopped to get her back.  Sunny was with me, and I was afraid she’d run into the street and get hit by a car; suddenly I realized that I had the power to save her.  I made a leash out of old phone cord and led her on.  I began to feel like I was going to be okay.

Leave a Reply

