The Nose Knows

When you’re sitting at the head of a massage table, you get an odd perspective on people that few get to see. Even very tall people would have to stand behind a shorter person, and crane over the top of them to look down from the crown of their head. Many massages later, my Very Important Observation is: most people’s noses are off to one side. Not right in the middle, at all. They point slightly leeward, a little starboard, anywhere but straight ahead. You usually can’t tell from the front.

When I was a wee young lass, I had a teacher who had a long, sharp nose, like a pointed beak, the tip of which wiggled up and down when she talked. I wonder if she noticed.

Rukan would like to add that people’s right and left nostrils never quite match.

2 responses to “The Nose Knows

  1. My relatives from South Africa kept telling us that when a person is about to die, his/her nose moves to the left. I can neither confirm nor deny this happened with my father, but we did watch for it. 🙂

  2. Hi Blue, when I was in physical therapy for jaw and neck issues, the PT would straighten my nose. It was odd to me. I didn’t know that noses could be straightened! You can straighten your clients’ noses or teach them how.
    Jan

Leave a Reply

