My Wild Neighborhood

We saw a grey fox in our yard last night.

Of course I didn’t see her in this much detail, since the yard was only lit by streetlamp. We were down at the neighbors’ with our visiting pals Chuck and Tanya when somebody spotted her up the street at our place. I followed her, not knowing whether or not she might want to make a snack out of my old Bob. But as she disappeared down the hill toward the greenbelt, there were a plenty of fat cats hanging out she could have snagged. Maybe she was after the catfood, not the cats. There have been sightings of her in my neighborhood on and off for the past year or so.

It was a first for me. I’ve seen plenty of red foxes up in Maine, what looked like a kit fox (if that’s possible) in Austin on the shore of Lake Travis, and now my first grey fox. Sightings like this are such a magical thrill for me!

2 responses to “My Wild Neighborhood

  1. Maggie Jochild

    There are many in the woods near my apartment complex on Saint Edward’s. They are out at twilight, and used to come over my patio wall often when I kept kibble out there for stray cats. I’d know because my cat would go into hysterics at the window. When they trot, they look so very feline, except for that brush of a tail.

  2. Add it to my quickly growing list of things I love about Austin: wildlife and greenspace coexisting with concrete.

Leave a Reply

